The architecture program was founded in 1946 and has been accredited by the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) since 1958. The following statement is included in the University of Arkansas Catalog of Studies, which is located online at:

National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB) Statement of Conditions for Accreditation (2020):

“In the United States, most registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year term, an eight-year term with conditions, or a two-year term of continuing accreditation, or a three-year term of initial accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established education standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a non-accredited undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the non-accredited degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.”

The University of Arkansas’ Fay Jones School of Architecture and Design’s Department of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program:

  • B.Arch. (157 undergraduate credits)

The B.Arch. was granted reaccreditation in 2014. The next accreditation visit is slated for 2023.

For more information about the National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), visit the NAAB website.

Access to NAAB Conditions and Procedures for Accreditation

Further information on NAAB conditions and procedures can be found by downloading the documents below.


The Process of Becoming an Architect 

NCARB Basics: Becoming an Architect
AIA Licensing Basics

Career Development

To develop an understanding of the larger context for architecture education and the career paths available to graduates of accredited degree programs, please refer to the sources listed below.

NCARB Certification Guidelines (2012)
Toward an Evolution of Studio Culture (2008)
National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB)
National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)
American Institute of Architects (AIA)
Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture (ACSA)
National Organization of Minority Architects (NOMA)
American Institute of Architecture Students (AIAS)
Alpha Rho Chi