Alumni Design Awards

2016 Fay Jones Alumni Design Awards

Note: Starting in 2016, our Fay Jones Alumni Design Awards has moved to a fall event.

Any architecture, landscape architecture or interior design graduate of the University of Arkansas may submit projects for the 2016 Fay Jones Alumni Design Awards. Awards for winning designs will be presented on Oct. 13, 2016, at the David and Barbara Pryor Center for Arkansas Oral and Visual History in Fayetteville. These projects will be featured in our alumni magazine and on this website. Submissions must be anonymous

All design work is eligible for the alumni design awards competition — architecture, landscape architecture, interior design, urban planning, historic preservation/adaptive reuse, industrial design, furniture and product design, set design, etc. Work must have been designed in 2011 or later.

Design categories

  • architecture
  • interior design
  • landscape architecture
  • regional and urban design
  • historic preservation
  • unbuilt projects
  • visual studies (photography/drawing)
  • product/furniture design
  • virtual constructions

Submission Criteria

Entries must be submitted online no later than Aug. 8, 2016


Michelle Parks
Director of Communications

Stephanie Bukoski-Smith
Administrative Assistant

2015 Fay Jones Alumni Design Award Winners

Designs for residential, educational, commercial, medical, retail, entertainment, historic and public urban spaces were among projects vying for recognition in this year’s alumni design awards competition. After careful review, a five-member jury chose six projects for accolades – resulting in one Honor Award for Preservation, three Merit Awards for Architecture, one Merit Award for Landscape Architecture and one Merit Award for Interior Design. 

The alumni design awards were announced and presented April 17 during the school’s annual Honors Recognition Reception and Ceremony, held at Vol Walker Hall on the University of Arkansas campus in Fayetteville.

Jason Jackson won an Honor Award for Preservation for Memphis Slim Collaboratory, located in Memphis, Tennessee. Jackson (B.Arch. ’06) is with brg3s architects in Memphis.

David McKee and Matt Hoffman won a Merit Award for Interior Design for their Fayetteville project 315 Mountain. McKee (B.Arch. ’82) is with David W. McKee Architect PLLC in Fayetteville, and Hoffman (B.Arch. ’10) worked at McKee’s firm on this project.

Michael Gavin Duke won a Merit Award for Landscape Architecture for Crater Hill, a residence in Nashville, Tennessee. Duke (B.L.A. ’87) is with Page Duke Landscape Architects in Nashville.

Chris Baribeau, Graham Patterson, Suzana Annable and Josh Siebert won a Merit Award for Architecture for their 560 Vinson project in Fayetteville. Baribeau (B.Arch. ’03), Patterson (B.Arch. ’11), Annable (B.Arch. ’12) and Siebert (B.Arch. ’02) are with Modus Studio in Fayetteville.

James Henry won a Merit Award for Architecture for Galveston Fire House No. 4 in Galveston, Texas. Henry (B.Arch. ’00) was part of the design team at HDR in Dallas, Texas.

Sarah Bennings, Ross McCain, Reese Rowland and Joe Stanley won a Merit Award for Architecture for the Residence Life and Student Center at the Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences and the Arts in Hot Springs. Bennings (B.Arch. ’04), McCain (B.Arch. ’77), Rowland (B.Arch. ’90) and Joe Stanley (B.Arch. ’69) are with Polk Stanley Wilcox Architects in Little Rock.

Jury members for the awards competition included three faculty members of the Fay Jones School: Kim Furlong, assistant professor of interior design; Noah Billig, assistant professor of landscape architecture; and Jeff Shannon, professor of architecture. Two additional jury members were Robert Kerr, an architecture alumnus of the school and principal and founder of Robert Kerr Architecture Design in Santa Monica, California, and Billie Tsien, who is a John G. Williams Distinguished Visiting Professor in Architecture in the school and a principal and co-founder of Tod Williams Billie Tsien Architects in New York. This is the first time an alumnus of the school also served on the jury.

(Read more about these projects on Newswire.)